We Got a Board!

No, not that kind of board.

No, not that kind of board.

We were an official startup before, but now we’re officially official as this week we named our first board of directors. And as boards go, ours is quite the one: a combined 150-plus years of experience in the transportation industry among just five individuals.

The diverse ScoopMonkey board will help fuel our next stages of growth, as we have big plans for our future service offerings to carriers, brokers, and others in the industry. Having this distinguished board in place will ensure that we continue in the right direction and meet our long-term objectives.

The ScoopMonkey board members are:

Joel McGinley
McGinley is a transportation and technology executive with more than 30 years experience in high growth, innovative, transportation industry-related businesses. He has led companies as small as 12 employees and organizations as large as 400. Well regarded in the industry, McGinley is an innovative thinker with a growth- and value-oriented management style and has been a part of 23 different mergers or acquisitions, ranging from transportation intermediaries to software companies, all typically asset-light and service-heavy companies. He is a graduate of Seattle University and holds a finance degree from Portland State University.

Henry E. Seaton
A 1970 graduate of Duke University and Vanderbilt School of Law, Henry E. Seaton has practiced law for more than 30 years in the Washington D.C. area representing motor carriers and brokers. He is a member of Vienna, Va.-based law firm Seaton & Husk LP, specializing in freight claims, freight charge collection, contracting issues, carrier representation before the FMCSA and bankruptcy issues. Seaton serves on the editorial board for the Airforwarders Association magazine, is a contributor to Internet Truckstop magazine, and has written for a variety of industry publications and books. He is a frequent speaker and lecturer on cargo claims, freight charges, contracting, risk and insurance issues. In 2014, Hank received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Transportation Lawyers Association.

David Gee, CTB
David Gee has served in various business leadership capacities, most recently for U.S. Preventative Medicine (USPM). He is credited with saving the company from bankruptcy and providing an opportunity to preserve nearly $80 million. Gee established VHI Transport in Richmond, Va. in 1977 and grew the company to national prominence. In 1985, he was one of the first brokers to become a Certified Transportation Broker. He served on the board of directors of the Transportation Intermediary Association (TIA) for over 10 years. From 2003 to 2005, he was chairman of the board of this national organization representing annual business in excess of $700 billion. In 2008, he was the recipient of the national Heritage Award, the highest honor conferred by TIA. Gee frequently appears as an expert witness defending shippers and brokers in cases of negligent hiring of motor carriers.

Bruce Gee, CTB
Following in the footsteps of his father, Bruce Gee began in transportation in 1989 as the LTL specialist for VHI Transport. Since 1990, he has served as the company’s operations manager, general manager, CFO, and is the current president. In 1992, Gee started asset-based trucking company VHI Express that in 2009 became a SmartWay Transportation Partner. He is a Certified Transportation Broker and was an investing member of a start-up carrier-monitoring company, Safer Trans Inc.

Annette Petrick
As former executive director of a national transportation organization for truck brokers, Annette Petrick has a broad overview of the freight transport business and its many components. Since 1991, she has been providing marketing, management consultation and growth strategies to logistics companies and truck brokerages with clients ranging from Canada to California. A prolific writer and speaker, Petrick is recognized for the monthly marketing column she wrote for The Logistics Journal, published by the Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA).